Clee Cottage is beautiful through all seasons.
Because it nestles in more than half an acre of established grounds it is a private and tranquil spot and although extensive renovations have been carried out the original Cottage retains much of its old character and charm.
With its two living rooms and well set-up kitchen it invites people to settle in.
But when in the mood to venture out there is plenty to do including walking, biketrails, skiing, golf, fishing and more…
Continue reading “Our favourite things to do when we stay at Clee Cottage”
In 1945 Harold Kidson, Rector of Otago Boys High School, asked Dunedin architects to get to work on plans for a Cottage to be built from river stones. With retirement in mind he had chosen a large block of land at Bremner Bay which had panoramic views of the lake and mountains. On his regular treks around the Wanaka region Harold hand picked boulders for their shape, colour and texture until he had amassed a pile big enough to begin building. The specialised task of construction fell to stonemason and builder, George Burgess, an Orkney Islander who lived in Wanaka through the years of the Second World War. He worked on several other character cottages in the district and time has only added to the beauty of his work. The quaint look of Clee Cottage is enhanced by white painted metal frame windows, a stone porch and old imported roof tiles. Somehow it seems fitting that nestled in a corner of the grounds is an old dynamiter’s hut from the Haast Pass. (Nowadays the hut is put to good use as a toolshed.)
Continue reading “Clee Cottage is steeped in history”